top of page

Beautiful Empire period clock in gilt bronze and antique green patina representing Minerva seated on a stool facing an Etruscan monopod pedestal table.
The goddess holds with a raised hand, a scale in which she weighs on one side Eros child (Love, Cupid) and on the other a butterfly (Psyche, the soul).
The decor, in the background, simulates a temple with Corinthian columns and a triangular pediment decorated at the top with a mask of an Amerindian old man dear to André-Antoine Ravrio (commonly used on his sconces and chandeliers).

On each side of the monument, a monopod wall console with a leonine volute leg accommodates a beautiful antique ewer.

This scene can be interpreted as an allegory of Psyche's triumph, where she earns her place among the gods.
Indeed, the story of Eros and Psyche can be read as an allegory of the soul shared between carnal love and divine love.
As a lover of mythology and its legends, I would like to summarize the story of this legendary couple, as Apuleius told it to us:

Once upon a time (just to be able to tell it to your children), in a distant kingdom, a king and a queen had three daughters as beautiful as they were graceful. The youngest was so extraordinarily beautiful, so marvelous, that there were no words to express it. The men captivated by the young Psyche forgot the cult of Venus, goddess of love and beauty. She then appeals to her son Cupid to take revenge for the affront. But the god himself succumbs to the charm of the innocent princess: did he inadvertently hurt himself with one of his own arrows or did Psyche's purity of soul triumph?
Anyway, instead of delivering the princess in marriage to the most miserable of mortals, as her mother Venus ordered, Cupid has Psyche abducted in the air and installs her in his enchanted palace, where all is than gold, luxury and voluptuousness. Impalpable voices listen to the young girl's slightest desires; every night, her mysterious husband fills her with happiness. She quickly becomes pregnant. But he misses his family. She gets to see her parents again and bring her sisters, on condition that she never tries to see her husband's face.
Of course, her sisters immediately envy her life worthy of a goddess. They insinuate that her husband is only a monster, so terrible that he fears to be seen. Psyche, tortured by doubt, wants to get to the bottom of it. Equipped with an oil lamp to illuminate the beast and a dagger to kill it, she surprises Cupid in the first sleep after love. And it is dazzling! But a drop of oil falls from the lamp and the wounded god disappears forever.
Long wanderings follow for the grieving Psyche: she seeks help from Juno, then from Ceres, and finally surrenders to Venus. She becomes the slave of her "mother-in-law" who has her whipped and submits her to tests worthy of the exploits of Hercules: after sorting mountains of seeds and bringing back the golden wool of cannibalistic sheep, she must collect the waters of the Styx, the infernal river, at its source. Finally, she still has to go down to the Underworld to ask Proserpina, the wife of Pluto, ruler of the underground kingdom, the secret of her beauty, locked in a box given by Venus.
Beautiful and amiable as she always is, Psyche is not lacking in helpers: ants, trees and rivers, a tower and even Jupiter's eagle spontaneously offer her their services. However, the princess gives in to legendary female curiosity, well known since Pandora, and opens Proserpina's box: she thus releases deadly vapors which plunge her into a deep sleep, but Cupid comes to revive her by touching her with the tip of his one of his arrows. The young god in love obtains from Jupiter that his wife be welcomed at the table of the gods on Olympus. Psyche consumes nectar and ambrosia there, which make her immortal: she now enjoys eternal bliss alongside her god.

I am sure that this beautiful story made you think of others, more modern, at Disney and consorts.

Work of great finesse with neat carvings, with a magnificent original gilding.

In perfect working order, revised by an expert watchmaker.

Very rare model attributed to André-Antoine Ravrio (1759-1814).

Empire period.

As with all of my art objects and furniture, I am very careful to be able to offer them to you at a very low expert estimate.
My objects are photographed naturally, without going through a photo studio. Because of this, you can enjoy them as they really are.

Not putting all of my Furniture and Art Objects on Proantic, I invite you to follow my Instagram account where you can enjoy all the new products: @monantiquaire































Empire period, Rare Minerva clock weighing Love and the soul.

€0.00Price
  • DIMENSIONS

    Hauteur: 17,3 inches
    Largeur: 11,8 inches
    Profondeur: 7,1 inches

  • DELIVERY

    On request, I manage for you the delivery in France as well as internationally.

    The shipping methods depend on your location.  Contact me to find out the cost and prepare the organization of your delivery.

    I make sure that special care is taken to ensure that your purchases are packaged and protected appropriately.

  • PAYMENT

    - by credit card on the site (secure online payment)

    - by bank transfer: I will provide you with my bank details by email on request.

    - by check (for accounts domiciled in France)

Related Products

top of page

Très belle pendule d'époque Empire en bronze doré et patine verte à l'antique représentant Minerve assise sur un tabouret face à un gueridon monopode à l'étrusque.
La déesse tient d'une main levée, une balance à plateaux dans laquelle elle soupèse d'un côté Éros enfant ( Amour, Cupidon) et de l'autre un papillon ( Psyché, l'âme).
Le décor, en arrière plan, simule un temple à colonnes corinthiennes et fronton triangulaire agrémenté en son sommet d'un masque de vieillard amérindien cher à André-Antoine Ravrio (couramment usité sur ses appliques et lustres).

De chaque côté du monument, une console d'applique monopode à patte leonine en volute vient accueillir une belle aiguière antique.

Cette scène peut être interprétée comme une allégorie du triomphe de Psyché, là où elle gagne sa place parmi les dieux.
En effet, l’histoire d’Éros et Psyché peut se lire comme une allégorie de l’âme partagée entre l’amour charnel et l’amour divin .
Aimant la mythologie et ses légendes, j'aimerais vous résumer l'histoire de ce couple légendaire, tel qu'Apulée nous la narra :

Il était une fois (histoire de pouvoir la conter à vos enfants) , dans un royaume lointain, un roi et une reine qui avaient trois filles aussi belles que gracieuses. La plus jeune était d’une beauté si extraordinaire, si merveilleuse, qu’il n’y avait pas de mots pour l’exprimer. Les hommes subjugués par la jeune Psyché en oubliaient le culte de Vénus, déesse de l’amour et de la beauté. Celle-ci fait alors appel à son fils Cupidon pour se venger de l’affront. Mais le dieu lui-même succombe au charme de l’innocente princesse : s’est-il blessé par mégarde avec l’une de ses propres flèches ou la pureté d’âme de Psyché a-t-elle triomphé ?
Toujours est-il qu’au lieu de livrer la princesse en mariage au plus misérable des mortels, comme le lui a ordonné sa mère Vénus, Cupidon fait enlever Psyché dans les airs et l’installe dans son palais enchanté, où tout n’est qu’or, luxe et volupté. Des voix impalpables sont à l’écoute des moindres envies de la jeune fille ; chaque nuit, son mystérieux époux la comble de bonheur. Elle se trouve rapidement enceinte. Mais sa famille lui manque. Elle obtient de revoir ses parents et de faire venir ses sœurs, à condition de ne jamais chercher à voir le visage de son mari.
Bien sûr, ses sœurs envient tout de suite sa vie digne d’une déesse. Elles insinuent que son époux n’est qu’un monstre, si épouvantable qu’il craint d’être vu. Psyché, torturée par le doute, veut en avoir le cœur net. Munie d’une lampe à huile pour éclairer la bête et d’un poignard pour la tuer, elle surprend Cupidon dans le premier sommeil après l’amour. Et c’est l’éblouissement ! Mais une goutte d’huile tombe de la lampe et le dieu blessé disparaît pour toujours.
Suivent de longues errances pour Psyché éplorée : elle cherche du secours auprès de Junon, puis de Cérès, et finalement se livre à Vénus. Elle devient l’esclave de sa "belle-mère" qui la fait fouetter et la soumet à des épreuves dignes des exploits d’Hercule : après avoir trié des montagnes de graines et rapporté la laine d’or de brebis anthropophages, elle doit recueillir les eaux du Styx, le fleuve infernal, à sa source. Pour finir, il lui faut encore descendre aux Enfers demander à Proserpine, l’épouse de Pluton, souverain du royaume souterrain, le secret de sa beauté, enfermé dans une boîte donnée par Vénus.
Belle et aimable comme elle est toujours, Psyché ne manque pas d’aides : des fourmis, des arbres et rivières, une tour et même l’aigle de Jupiter lui offrent spontanément leurs services. Cependant, la princesse cède à la légendaire curiosité féminine, bien connue depuis Pandore, et ouvre la boîte de Proserpine : elle libère ainsi des vapeurs mortelles qui la plongent dans un profond sommeil, mais Cupidon vient la ranimer en la touchant de la pointe d’une de ses flèches. Le jeune dieu amoureux obtient de Jupiter que son épouse soit accueillie à la table des dieux sur l’Olympe. Psyché y consomme nectar et ambroisie qui la rendent immortelle : elle jouit désormais d’une félicité éternelle aux côtés de son dieu.

Je suis sûre que cette belle histoire vous a fait penser à d'autres, plus modernes, chez Disney et consorts.

Travail d'une grande finesse aux ciselures soignées , avec une magnifique dorure d'origine. 

En parfait état de fonctionnement, révisée par un horloger d'art. 

Modèle très rare attribué à André-Antoine Ravrio ( 1759-1814 ).

Époque Empire.

Comme pour l’ensemble de mes objets et mobilier d'art, je suis très attentive à pouvoir vous les proposer dans une valeur très basse d'estimation d'expert. 

Mes objets sont pris en photo au naturel, sans passer par un studio photo. De ce fait, vous pouvez les apprécier tels qu’ils sont réellement.

Ne mettant pas l'ensemble de mon Mobilier et Objets d'art sur Proantic, je vous invite à suivre mon compte Instagram où vous pourrez profiter de la totalité des nouveautés: @monantiquaire

 

Époque Empire, Rare pendule Minerve pesant l'Amour et l'âme.

0,00 €Prix
  • DIMENSIONS

    Hauteur:  44 cm
    Largeur:  30 cm
    Profondeur:  18 cm

  • LIVRAISON

    Sur demande, je gère pour vous la livraison en France ainsi qu'à l'international.

    Les modalités d'expédition dépendent de votre localisation. Contactez-moi afin de connaître le coût et préparer l'organisation de votre livraison.

    Je veille à ce qu'un soin tout particulier soit respecté pour un emballage et une protection adaptés à vos achats.

  • PAIEMENT

    - par carte bancaire sur le site ( paiement en ligne sécurisé )

    - par virement: je vous fournis mes coordonnées bancaires par email sur demande.

    - par chèque ( pour les comptes domiciliés en France )

Articles similaires