top of page

Rare pair of Empire period armchairs, each bearing the stamp of Pierre Antoine Bellangé (1760-1844), carpenter in seats in Paris, received Master on October 24, 1788. He was a supplier to the imperial and then royal court. Few of the seats stamped with Bellangé.

This very beautiful pair of armchairs is made of mahogany and mahogany veneer, the backrest with rectangular geometry, the console armrests adorned with a palmette and a winding inscribed in a delicate lotus leaf, resting on saber feet from magnify imperial power.
The "patina of time" gives the whole a captivating charm.
Very nice garnish with small dots from later times.
Each bearing the stamp P.BELLANGÉ, one of the most famous seat cabinetmakers of the Directoire, Consulate and Empire eras.

Dimensions:
Height: 94.5
Width: 62
Depth: 54
Seat height: 42
Very light restorations of use, small lack on the rod of the file at the top left. (restoration possible by a cabinetmaker companion on request).
Good state of conservation.

A little history on this exceptional craftsman:
He set up his workshop on rue Neuve Saint-Denis where he practiced until the end of his life. He begins to work for the entourage of the Emperor and specializes in wood beds and seats. It was only under the Revolution that Béllangé, orders being rarer, decided to vary its production and carry out all kinds of cabinetmaking. Its reputation becomes international. In 1817 we find an order for seats for the large living room of the White House in Washington. He held, under the Consulate, one of the first ranks of Parisian industry and in 1811 obtained his patent as Manufacturer of the Imperial Furniture Guard, a position he would keep under Louis XVIII before being attached, by Charles X, to the direction of the furniture of the Crown and to be appointed by Louis Philippe, cabinetmaker of the King. In 1820, he joined forces with his son Alexandre. At the 1827 exhibition, he was awarded the silver medal for "very beautiful furniture in native wood and exotic wood". He did not often sign his furniture and we rarely find seats marked with his stamp, seats always made of mahogany.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

- Bellangé cabinetmakers, a history of taste in the 19th century Sylvain Cordier, Mare & Martin 2012.

- French Furniture of the XVIIIth Century, Pierre Kjellberg, Les Editions de l'Amateur 2008.

- Cabinetmakers of the 18th century - Count François de Salverte, Les éditions d'Art et d'Histoire 1934.

I am offering you this rare pair of armchairs stamped by Bellangé in a very low expert estimate. Thus, its acquisition will give you the assurance of a safe investment.

Bellangé Pierre Antoine: pair of armchairs stamped from the Empire period

€0.00Price
  • Delivery

    I manage the delivery for you in France as well as internationally. For delivery outside of Europe, contact me to establish one or more quotes.
    I make sure that particular care is taken for packaging and protection adapted to your purchases.

Rare paire de fauteuils d'époque Empire, chacun portant l'estampille de Pierre Antoine Bellangé (1760-1844), menuisier en sièges à Paris, reçu Maître le 24 octobre 1788. Il fut un des fournisseurs de la cour impériale puis royale. Rares sont les sièges estampillés de Bellangé.

Cette très belle paire de fauteuils est réalisée en acajou et placage d'acajou, le dossier à géométrie rectangulaire, les accotoirs en console ornés d'une palmette et d'un enroulement inscrit dans une délicate feuille de lotus, reposant sur des pieds sabre venant magnifier la puissance impériale. 
La "patine du temps" donne à l'ensemble un charme captivant.
Très belle garniture aux petits points d'époque postérieure.
Chacun portant l'estampille P.BELLANGÉ, un des ébénistes en sièges les plus renommés des époques Directoire, Consulat et Empire. 

Dimensions :
Hauteur : 94.5 
Largeur : 62
Profondeur : 54
Hauteur d'assise : 42
Très légères restaurations d'usage, petit manque sur la baguette du dossier en haut à gauche. (restauration possible par un compagnon ébéniste sur demande). 
Bel état de conservation. 

Un peu d'histoire sur cet artisan d'exception :
Il installa son atelier rue Neuve Saint-Denis où il exerça jusqu'à la fin de sa vie. Il commence à travailler pour l'entourage de l'Empereur et se spécialise dans les bois de lits et de sièges . Ce n'est que sous la Révolution que Béllangé, les commandes étant plus rares, décide de varier sa production et d'exécuter toutes sortes d'ébénisterie. Sa réputation devient internationale. En 1817 on trouve une commande de sièges pour le grand salon de la Maison Blanche à Washington. Il tient, sous le Consulat, l'un des premiers rangs de l'industrie parisienne et en 1811 obtient son brevet de Fabricant du Garde Meuble Impérial, fonction qu'il gardera sous Louis XVIII avant d'être attaché, par Charles X, à la direction du mobilier de la Couronne et d'être nommé par Louis Philippe, ébéniste du Roi. En 1820, il s'associe avec son fils Alexandre. A l'exposition de 1827, on lui décerne la médaille d'argent pour "de très beaux meubles en bois indigène et en bois exotique". Il ne signait pas souvent ses meubles et on ne retrouve que rarement des sièges marqués de son estampille, sièges réalisés toujours en acajou.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIE

- Bellangé ébénistes, une histoire du goût au XIXe Sylvain Cordier, Mare & Martin 2012.

- Le Mobilier Français du XVIIIème Siècle, Pierre Kjellberg, Les Editions de l'Amateur 2008.

- Les ébénistes du XVIIIe siècle - Comte François de Salverte, Les éditions d'Art et d'Histoire 1934.

Je vous propose cette rare paire de fauteuils estampillés de Bellangé dans une valeur très basse d'estimation d'expert. Ainsi, son acquisition vous confèrera l'assurance d'un placement sûr.

Bellangé Pierre Antoine: paire de fauteuils estampillés d'époque Empire

0,00 €Prix
  • Livraison


    Je gère pour vous la livraison en France ainsi qu'à l'international. Pour une livraison en dehors de l'Europe, contactez-moi afin d'établir un ou plusieurs devis.
    Je veille à ce qu'un soin tout particulier soit respecté pour un emballage et une protection adaptés à vos achats.