top of page

Today I am offering you a spectacular Empire period cylinder desk stamped by Jean Joseph CHAPUIS, the rarity of which is equal to what, for me, characterizes the finest achievements under the Empire: Power and Elegance.

But before describing this exceptional piece of furniture to you, I would like to dwell on what seems to be one of the biggest mistakes in the history of Estampilles!

Indeed, even today, it is not uncommon to see that a number of "renowned" antique dealers and other auction houses (including Sotheby's) continue to perpetuate an error dating back to the beginning of the 19th century. It concerns the name of CHAPUIS.

Take a look, for example, at this beautiful piece of furniture sold in 2015 by Sotheby's:

https://www.sothebys.com/fr/auctions/ecatalogue/2015/important-mobilier-sculptures-objets-art-pf1511/lot.488.html

We are still talking here about a piece of furniture sold for more than 43,000 €! A simple little documentation rather than a "copy and paste", would have been appropriate.

You have surely seen this stamp before, and sometimes it is defined as being the signature of Claude CHAPUIS. This is the serious error! This namesake was a furniture dealer under the Empire. And not a cabinetmaker!

This bad association began at the end of the 18th century, and Claude Chapuis (the furniture merchant) greatly benefited from this attribution which fell from the sky to increase his turnover tenfold.

I remind you that only obtaining a master's degree in cabinetmaking allowed you to acquire the right to affix your stamp.

Only Jean Joseph CHAPUIS was a Master Cabinetmaker!

Only Jean Joseph Chapuis could stamp his furniture.

This means that ALL FURNITURE bearing the CHAPUIS stamp, are only by Jean Joseph CHAPUIS.

It is also funny that some even lend Claude (the furniture dealer) a master's degree in cabinetmaking. Which is none other than the date on which Jean Joseph CHAPUIS became Master Cabinetmaker in Paris, in September 1791 at only 26 years old.

JEAN JOSEPH CHAPUIS is the greatest Belgian cabinetmaker in history, born in Brussels in 1765, he came to Paris very early to be trained in French cabinetmaking. Considered by his Masters as a gifted artist, he obtained the title of Master Cabinetmaker in September 1791, at the age of only 26, then returned to his country to set up his workshop on rue de Borgval then rue de Loxum.

In addition to multiple orders to France and Europe, he becomes Supplier of the Royal Palace of Laeken.

In 1805, he was even commissioned to carry out an inventory of furniture in Schonenberg Castle in Laeken.

Listed in the Almanach du Commerce until 1824, it carried out its activity until 1830.

He is often compared to a very great French bronzier, giving him the nickname "Claude Galle of cabinetmakers".

 

The laurels returned to Caesar, I can now tell you about this magnificent office:

Like the vast majority of furniture from the Empire period, this desk is in mahogany and mahogany veneer. You can notice on the cylinder part (when the desk is closed) a beautiful flamed mahogany and beautiful lion head pull handles in gilded and chiseled bronze holding a ring in their muzzle. It is capped with a gray marble tablet turquin and rests on pilaster feet. The two front feet reveal busts of caryatids on sheaths terminated by elegant female feet. These decorative elements are in bronze with a brown patina and of remarkable finesse in their carving. Under each bust of a caryatid, as a belt, comes a Greek-style frieze in chiseled and gilded bronze, finely chiseled, followed by a large motif of foliage, acanthus leaves, lotus flower and palmette. It comes with three drawers in the belt in its upper part, six small drawers inside and four drawers in the lower part, of which the left one forms only one.

Once the cylinder is open, the desk top expands by sliding it towards you. A zipper slides on each side and adds additional space to the desk. The top and the zippers are decorated with a beautiful fawn-colored leather, framed by a border of gold foliage.

All these details form a set of remarkable execution and bring together the strong decorative elements of the Empire period.

CHAPUIS: Exceptional stamped cylinder desk, Empire period.

€0.00Price
  • Dimensions

    Height: 127cm

    Width: 142cm

    Depth: 66cm

  • Delivery

    I manage the delivery for you in France as well as internationally. For delivery outside of Europe, contact me to establish one or more quotes.
    I make sure that particular care is taken for packaging and protection adapted to your purchases.

Related Products

Je vous propose aujourd'hui un spectaculaire bureau à cylindre d'époque Empire estampillé par Jean Joseph CHAPUIS, dont la rareté est à la hauteur de ce qui, pour moi, caractérise les plus belles réalisations sous l'Empire : Puissance et Élégance.

Mais avant de vous décrire ce meuble d'exception, j'aimerai m'attarder sur ce qui semble être l'une des plus grandes erreurs de l'histoire des Estampilles !

En effet, encore aujourd'hui, il n'est pas rare de constater que nombre d'antiquaires "renommés" et autres salles des ventes (y compris Sotheby's) continuent de perpétuer une erreur vieille du début du XIXe siècle. Elle concerne le nom de CHAPUIS. 

Regardez, par exemple ce très beau meuble vendu en 2015 par Sotheby's :

https://www.sothebys.com/fr/auctions/ecatalogue/2015/important-mobilier-sculptures-objets-art-pf1511/lot.488.html

On parle tout de même ici d'un meuble vendu à plus de 43.000€ ! Une simple petite documentation plutôt qu'un "copier-coller", aurait été de circonstance. 

Vous avez sûrement déjà vu cette estampille, et parfois elle est définie comme étant la signature de Claude CHAPUIS. C'est bien là la grave erreur ! Cet homonyme était un marchand de meuble sous l'Empire. Et aucunement un ébéniste ! 

Cette mauvaise association a pris naissance dès la fin du XVIIIe siècle, et Claude Chapuis (le marchand de meubles) profita grandement de cette attribution tombée du ciel pour décupler son chiffre d'affaires. 

Je vous rappelle que seule l'obtention d'une Maîtrise en ébénisterie permettait d'acquérir le droit d'apposer son Estampille. 

Seul Jean Joseph CHAPUIS était Maître Ébéniste ! 

Seul Jean Joseph Chapuis pouvait Estampiller son mobilier. 

Ce qui fait que TOUS LES MEUBLES portant l'estampille CHAPUIS, sont uniquement de Jean Joseph CHAPUIS.

Il est d'ailleurs amusant que certains prêtent même à Claude (le marchand de meubles), une date de maîtrise en ébénisterie. Qui n'est autre que la date à laquelle Jean Joseph CHAPUIS est devenu Maître Ébéniste à Paris, en septembre 1791 à seulement 26 ans. 

JEAN JOSEPH CHAPUIS est le plus grand ébéniste Belge de l'histoire, né à Bruxelles en 1765, il vient très tôt à Paris afin d'être formé à l'ébénisterie française. Considéré par ses Maîtres comme un artiste surdoué, il obtient le titre de Maître ébéniste en septembre 1791, à seulement 26 ans, puis rentre au pays pour installer son atelier rue de Borgval puis rue de Loxum.

En plus des multiples commandes vers la France et l'Europe, il devient Fournisseur du Palais royal de Laeken. 

Il est même chargé en 1805 de procéder à l’inventaire mobilier du château de Schonenberg à Laeken. 

Recensé dans l’Almanach du Commerce jusqu’en 1824, il exerce son activité jusqu’en 1830.

On le compare souvent à un très grand bronzier français, en lui donnant le surnom du "Claude Galle des ébénistes". 

 

Les lauriers rendus à César, je peux maintenant vous parler de ce magnifique bureau :

Comme la grande majorité du mobilier de l’époque Empire, ce bureau est en acajou et placage d’acajou. Vous pouvez remarquer sur la partie cylindre ( lorsque le bureau est fermé ) un bel acajou flammé et de belles poignées de tirage en tête de lion en bronze doré et ciselé tenant un anneau dans leur mufle.Il est coiffé d’une tablette en marbre gris turquin et repose sur des pieds en pilastre. Les deux pieds avant découvrent des bustes de cariatides sur des gaines terminées par d’élégants pieds féminins. Ces éléments décoratifs sont en bronze à patine brune et d’une remarquable finesse quant à leur ciselure. Sous chaque buste de cariatide, en ceinture, vient une frise à la grecque en bronze ciselé et doré, finement ciselé,  suivi d’un grand motif de rinceaux, feuilles d’acanthe, fleur de lotus et palmette. Il est assorti de trois tiroirs en ceinture dans sa partie haute, six petits tiroirs à l’intérieur et quatre tiroirs en partie basse, dont celui de gauche ne forme qu’un seul.

Une fois le cylindre ouvert, le plateau du bureau s’agrandit en le faisant coulisser vers soi. De chaque côté une tirette coulisse et vient étoffer le bureau d’un espace supplémentaire. Le plateau et les tirettes sont agrémentés d’un beau cuir couleur fauve, encadré d’un liseré de rinceaux or. 

Tous ces détails forment un ensemble d’une remarquable exécution et réunissent les éléments décoratifs forts de l’époque Empire.

CHAPUIS : Exceptionnel bureau à cylindre estampillé, d'époque Empire.

8 800,00 €Prix
  • Dimensions

    Hauteur: 127cm

    Largeur: 142cm

    Profondeur: 66cm

  • Livraison

    Je gère pour vous la livraison en France ainsi qu'à l'international. Pour une livraison en dehors de l'Europe, contactez-moi afin d'établir un ou plusieurs devis.
    Je veille à ce qu'un soin tout particulier soit respecté pour un emballage et une protection adaptés à vos achats. 
     

© 2020 Géraldine Buisson, tous droits réservés