top of page

Today I am offering you a very beautiful set of a rare cabinetmaker, who was with George Jacob and Jean-Baptiste Claude Sené, one of the most popular cabinetmakers of the Louis XVI period.

This trio, in a beautiful state of preservation, is composed of a bergere with medallion back stamped jbBoulard in molded and sculpted beech, marked with a deep sculpture in all the contours of the seats as well as the grooves of the feet. The connecting dice, connecting the end of the armrests and the beginning of the legs, are decorated with a floral motif. The tapered front and rear legs are rudent fluted; and two chairs, also in molded and sculpted beech, with a decoration similar to that of the shepherdess.

 

Very elegant cotton canvas trim in dawn yellow color, giving the whole an elegance that allows it to be attributed to the living room, bedroom and other dressing rooms.

 

Once again, as you very kindly comment on my site mon-antiquaire.com, my prices are very affordable. I am therefore offering you this set of bergère and chairs, stamped Boulard, at a very attractive price and in a very low expert estimate.

 

An identical shepherdess, also stamped Boulard, was sold by artenchere on December 3, 2017, lot 219:

http://www.artencheres.fr/lot/88883/8277003?

 

A little history on Jean-Baptiste Boulard (1725 - 1789)

 

Parisian carpenter, Jean-Baptiste Boulard, after obtaining his master's degree in 1754, moved to rue de Cléry and quickly gained, thanks to the quality and originality of his works, a great reputation. Its productions, in the Louis XV style, are numerous: bergères, chairs, caned or fabric-covered armchairs, the whole always made with the greatest care and executed in the most beautiful woods. But, it was especially from 1777 that Jean-Baptiste Boulard became known to all, becoming the King's cabinetmaker for whom he then worked assiduously, essentially in the Louis XVI style without any particular sign except for sculptures by pleated palmette that we often find at the top of the feet of its seats. Apart from the abundant orders from the Garde Meuble, he also worked for a more modest private clientele for whom he created large and comfortable seats, of beautiful proportions, simply decorated with sober sculptures. After his death, his wife will continue to provide for the many requests for the crown until 1792 then those of the imperial court until 1808. It is his son, Michel Jacques, who will succeed him and who will work rue de Cléry until in 1823.

 

MUSEUMS:

-Chairs and Shepherdess - Louvre Museum

-Bergère N ° MAD151 - Museum of Decorative Arts Lyon

-Chair - Ephrussi de Rothschild Museum

-Chair - Palace of Versailles

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

 

-The French Furniture of the XVIIIth Century - Pierre Kjellberg - Les Editions de l'Amateur - 2002

-Eighteenth century cabinetmakers - Count François de Salverte - Editions of Art and History - 1934

-Jean-Baptiste Boulard - Laurent Condamy - Faton - 2008

-JB Boulard. Carpenter in seats - Patricia Lemonnier - L'Estampille. Objet d'art, n ° 239, September 1990, p. 56-61

 

J. B. BOULARD: Set of 2 chairs and a bergere stamped J.B. Boulard, period

€0.00Price
  • Dimensions

    Bergere:

    Height: 96cm

    Width: 63cm

     

    Chairs:

    Height: 89cm

    Width: 51cm

  • Delivery

    I manage the delivery for you in France as well as internationally. For delivery outside of Europe, contact me to establish one or more quotes.
    I make sure that particular care is taken for packaging and protection adapted to your purchases.

Related Products

Je vous propose aujourd'hui un très bel ensemble d'un ébéniste rare, qui fut avec George Jacob et Jean-Baptiste Claude Sené, un des plus prisés ébénistes de l'époque Louis XVI. 

Ce trio, dans un bel état de conservation, est composé d'une bergère à dossier médaillon estampillée j.b.Boulard en hêtre mouluré et sculpté, marqué d’une sculpture profonde dans tous les contours des sièges ainsi que les cannelures des pieds. Les dés de raccordements, reliant la fin des accotoirs et le début des pieds, sont décorés d'un motif floral. Les pieds avant et arrière fuselés sont cannelés rudentés; et de deux chaises, également en hêtre mouluré et sculpté, au décor similaire à celui de la bergère.

 

Très élégante garniture en toile de coton de couleur jaune aurore ,donnant à l'ensemble une élégance qui lui permet de s'attribuer le salon, la chambre et autres dressings. 

 

Encore une fois, comme vous me le commentez très gentiment sur mon site mon-antiquaire.com, mes prix sont très abordables. Je vous propose donc cet ensemble bergère et chaises, estampillé Boulard, à un prix très intéressant et dans une valeur très basse d'estimation d'experts.

 

Une bergère identique, également estampillée Boulard, a été vendue par artenchere le 3 décembre 2017, lot 219 :

http://www.artencheres.fr/lot/88883/8277003?

 

Un peu d'histoire sur Jean-Baptiste Boulard  ( 1725 - 1789 )

 

Menuisier parisien, Jean-Baptiste Boulard, après avoir obtenu sa maîtrise en 1754, s'installe rue de Cléry et gagne très vite, grâce à la la qualité et à l'originalité de ses oeuvres, une grande réputation. Ses productions, dans le style Louis XV, sont nombreuses : bergères, chaises, fauteuils cannés ou revêtus de tissu, l'ensemble toujours fabriqué avec le plus grand soin et exécuté dans les plus beaux bois. Mais, c'est surtout à partir de 1777 que Jean-Baptiste Boulard se fait connaître de tous, en devenant ébéniste du Roi pour lequel il travaille alors assidûment, essentiellement dans le style Louis XVI sans signe particulier si ce n'est des sculptures de palmette plissée que l'on retrouve assez souvent au sommet des pieds de ses sièges. A part les abondantes commandes du Garde Meuble, il travaille aussi pour une clientèle privée plus modeste pour laquelle il exécute des sièges amples et confortables, aux belles proportions, simplement ornés de sobres sculptures. Après sa mort, sa femme continuera à pourvoir les nombreuses demandes de la couronne jusqu'en 1792 puis celles de la cour impériale jusqu'en 1808. C'est son fils, Michel Jacques, qui lui succédera et qui travaillera rue de Cléry jusqu'en 1823.

 

MUSÉES:

-Chaises et Bergère - Musée ddu Louvre

-Bergère  N°MAD151 - Musée des Arts Décoratifs Lyon

-Chaise - Musée Ephrussi de Rothschild

-Chaise - Château de Versailles

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIE:

 

-Le Mobilier Français du XVIIIème Siècle - Pierre Kjellberg - Les Editions de l'Amateur - 2002

-Les ébénistes du XVIIIe siècle - Comte François de Salverte - Les éditions d'Art et d'Histoire - 1934

-Jean-Baptiste Boulard - Laurent Condamy - Faton - 2008

-J. B. Boulard. Menuisier en sièges - Patricia Lemonnier - L'Estampille. Objet d'art, n° 239, Septembre 1990, p. 56-61 

 

J. B. BOULARD: Ensemble de 2 chaises et une bergère estampillée J.B.Boulard, épo

1 900,00 €Prix
  • Dimensions

    Bergère:

    Hauteur: 96cm

    Largeur: 63cm

     

    Chaises:

    Hauteur: 89cm

    Largeur: 51cm

  • Livraison

    Je gère pour vous la livraison en France ainsi qu'à l'international. Pour une livraison en dehors de l'Europe, contactez-moi afin d'établir un ou plusieurs devis.
    Je veille à ce qu'un soin tout particulier soit respecté pour un emballage et une protection adaptés à vos achats.

© 2020 Géraldine Buisson, tous droits réservés