top of page

Exceptional pair of candelabra in gilded and patinated bronze and cherry red marble, Louis XVI period, late 18th century.

Two vestals with exceptional chasing, in bronze with brown patina, each hold in their hands a finely chiseled gilded bronze foliage ending in a bobeche with a row of pearls and gadroons. From the cushioning of their heads emerges a cushion with pompoms from which springs a bouquet of three twisted sconces, gathered around an amphora vase ending in the ultimate chandelier.

These two vestals rest on a pedestal in the form of a column on a square plinth in red cherry marble decorated, in the lower part, with a wreath of laurels and in the upper part, with a frieze of ovals.

All of the gilding is exceptional for a pair of candelabra in their original condition.

French work of rare and unique quality by François Rémond.

 

Only one other known identical model is found in the green hall of the Catherine Palace in Saint Petersburg (except the marble, white). Photos attached to those of the candelabra.

 

Louis XVI period, late 18th century.

 

François Rémond's compositions are easily recognizable thanks to their similarity with other pieces, and in particular, the pair of children's candelabras bought by Count Stroganoff directly from the merchant mercer Dominique Daguerre in 1785 (then sold at Christie's New-York on June 21, 2012, lot 1200 and the one in the Wallace Collection in London). On the model of Stroganoff, the arms with large twisted grooves are a signature of Rémond.

 

François Rémond (around 1747-1812)

Like Pierre Gouthière, he was one of the most important Parisian carvers and gilders of the last third of the 18th century. He began his apprenticeship in 1763 and obtained his master's degrees in 1774. His talent immediately enabled him to build up a rich clientele, including certain personalities of the Court. But above all François Rémond, through the intermediary of the merchant-mercer Dominique Daguerre, participated in the furnishing of most of the great collectors of the late 18th century by providing cases of clocks, andirons, candelabra ... very high quality of execution and particularly refined and innovative compositions which made its fame.

 

Very rare art object.

Pair of large candelabra by François Rémond, late 18th century.

€0.00Price
  • ARTICLE DETAILS

    Dimensions:

    Height: 99cm

    Width: 29cm

  • DELIVERY POLICY

    I offer my objects in a low expert estimate. Thus, their acquisition gives you the assurance of a safe investment.

     

    I manage the delivery for you in France as well as internationally.

    I make sure that particular care is taken for packaging and protection adapted to your purchases.

Related Products

Exceptionnelle paire de candélabres en bronze doré et patiné et marbre  rouge griotte, d’époque Louis XVI, fin du XVIIIe siècle.

Deux vestales à l’exceptionnelle ciselure, en bronze à patine brune, tiennent chacune dans leurs mains un rinceau en bronze doré et finement ciselé se terminant par une bobèche à rang de perles et godrons. À l’amorti de leur tête se dégage un coussin à pompons duquel s’élance un bouquet de trois bras de lumière torsadés, réunis autour d’un vase amphore se terminant en ultime chandelier.

Ces deux vestales reposent sur un piédestal reprenant la forme d’une colonne sur un socle carré en marbre rouge griotte agrémenté, en partie basse, d’une couronne de lauriers et en partie haute, d’une frise d’oves.

L’ensemble de la dorure est exceptionnelle pour une paire de candélabres dans leur état d’origine.

Travail français de qualité rare et unique de François Rémond.

 

Un seul autre modèle identique connu se trouve dans la salle verte du Palais Catherine à Saint Petersburg (à l’exception du marbre,blanc). Photos jointes à celles des candélabres.

 

Époque Louis XVI, fin XVIIIe siècle.

 

Les compositions de François Rémond sont facilement reconnaissables grâce à leur similitude avec d’autres pièces , et en particulier, la paire de candélabres aux enfants achetée par le comte Stroganoff directement chez le marchand mercier Dominique Daguerre en 1785 ( puis vendue chez Christie’s New-York le 21 juin 2012, lot 1200 et celle conservée à la Wallace Collection à Londres ). Sur le modèle de Stroganoff, les bras à larges cannelures torses sont une signature de Rémond.

 

François Rémond (vers 1747-1812) 

A l’instar de Pierre Gouthière, il est l’un des plus importants artisans ciseleurs-doreurs parisiens du dernier tiers du XVIIIe siècle. Il débute son apprentissage en 1763 et obtient ses lettres de maîtrise en 1774. Immédiatement son talent lui permet de se composer une riche clientèle parmi laquelle figuraient notamment certaines personnalités de la Cour. Mais surtout François Rémond, par l’intermédiaire du marchand-mercier Dominique Daguerre, participe à l’ameublement de la plupart des grands collectionneurs de la fin du XVIIIe siècle en fournissant des caisses de pendules, des chenets, des candélabres…toujours d’une très grande qualité d’exécution et aux compositions particulièrement raffinées et novatrices qui firent sa notoriété. 

 

Très rare objet d’art.

Paire d’importants candélabres de François Rémond, fin XVIIIème siècle.

0,00 €Prix
  • DÉTAILS DE L'ARTICLE

    Dimensions:

    Hauteur: 99cm

    Largeur: 29cm

  • POLITIQUE DE LIVRAISON

    Je propose mes objets dans une valeur basse d'estimation d'expert. Ainsi, leur acquisition vous confère l'assurance  d'un placement sûr.

     

    Je gère pour vous la livraison en France ainsi qu'à l'international.

    Je veille à ce qu'un soin tout particulier soit respecté pour un emballage et une protection adaptés à vos achats.

© 2020 Géraldine Buisson, tous droits réservés