top of page

Rare pair of large candelabra in gilded and chased bronze and bronze with brown patina. They represent superb winged Victories, dressed in diaphanous dresses, borrowing the canephora posture to support a bouquet of five arms of light, including a central one simulating a cloud of smoke. Winding arms of light terminated by eagle heads (strong emblem of the Empire) on which each of the binets rests.
The Victories stand, placing one foot on a sphere decorated with a griffin. Sphere placed in the cushioning of a large octagonal base decorated, on each of its facets, with a vestal, an eagle diamond and torches. An identical model is present in the former Palais des Tuileries. Empire period around 1810

 

Bibliography:
Marie-France Dupuy-Baylet: L'Heure, Le Feu, La Lumière, the bronzes of the Mobilier National 1800-1870, 2010, pp. 166-167 Thomire's candelabras are inspired by drawings by Charles Percier (1764-1838) and Pierre François Léonard Fontaine (1762-1853), architects of Napoleon I, themselves inspired by ancient statues. Pierre-Philippe Thomire (1757-1843) was received as master founder on May 18, 1772, he is the most important Parisian bronzier of the last quarter of the 18th century and the first decades of the following century. In his early days, he worked for Pierre Gouthière, the king's chaser-founder, then began working in the mid-1770s with Louis Prieur. He then became one of the official bronziers of the royal manufactory of Sèvres, succeeding Jean-Claude Thomas Duplessis, working on the bronze decoration of most of the great creations of the time. After the Revolution, he bought the business of Martin-Eloi Lignereux and became the largest supplier of furnishing bronzes for castles and imperial palaces.Thomire was entrusted in 1785 with the realization of a candelabra commemorating the commitment of France in the United States War of Independence. Offered to the king, it was placed in his interior cabinet at Versailles, where it is still kept. He made the caryatids and gilded bronze ornaments for the Schwerdfeger jewelry-holder, offered by the city of Paris to Queen Marie-Antoinette in 1787. He was also the author of the bronzes for the countess of Provence's jewelry-holder, preserved today at Windsor Castle. At the same time, he worked for a wealthy private French and foreign clientele, among which were some of Napoleon's marshals. Finally, he retired from business in the mid-1820s and died in 1843.

 

I offer my objects in a low expert estimate. Thus, their acquisition gives you the assurance of a safe investment.

THOMIRE: Pair Of Bronze Candelabra, Empire

€0.00Price
  • DETAILS DE L'ARTICLE

    Height: 75cm

  • DELIVERY POLICY

    I manage delivery for you in France and internationally: contact me to establish one or more transport quotes.
    I make sure that particular care is taken for packaging and protection adapted to your purchases.

Related Products

Rare paire de grands candélabres en bronze doré et ciselé et bronze à patine brune. Ils représentent de superbes Victoires ailées, vêtues de robes diaphanes, empruntant la posture de canéphores pour soutenir un bouquet de cinq bras de lumière, dont un central simulant un nuage de fumée. Bras de lumière à enroulement terminés par des têtes d’aigle (emblème fort de l’Empire) sur lesquels repose chacun des binets. 
Les Victoires se tiennent debout, posant un pied sur une sphère décorée d’un griffon. Sphère posée à l’amorti d’une importante base octogonale agrémentée, sur chacune de ses facettes, d’une vestale, d’un losange à l’aigle et de flambeaux. Un modèle identique est présent dans l’ancien Palais des Tuileries. Époque Empire vers 1810 

 

Bibliographie : 
Marie-France Dupuy-Baylet: L’Heure, Le Feu, La Lumière, les bronzes du Mobilier National 1800-1870, 2010, pp. 166-167 Les candélabres de Thomire s’inspirent des dessins de Charles Percier (1764-1838) et Pierre François Léonard Fontaine (1762-1853), architectes de Napoléon Ier, eux-mêmes inspirés par les statues antiques. Pierre-Philippe Thomire (1757-1843) a été reçu maître fondeur le 18 mai 1772, il est le plus important bronzier parisien du dernier quart du XVIIIe siècle et des premières décennies du siècle suivant. A ses débuts, il travaille pour Pierre Gouthière, ciseleur-fondeur du roi, puis collabore dès le milieu des années 1770 avec Louis Prieur. Il devient ensuite l’un des bronziers attitrés de la manufacture royale de Sèvres en succédant à Jean-Claude Thomas Duplessis, travaillant au décor de bronze de la plupart des grandes créations du temps. Après la Révolution, il rachète le fonds de commerce de Martin-Eloi Lignereux et devient le plus grand pourvoyeur de bronzes d’ameublement pour les châteaux et palais impériaux.Thomire se vit confier en 1785 la réalisation d'un candélabre commémorant l'engagement de la France dans la guerre d'indépendance des États-Unis. Offert au roi, il fut placé dans son cabinet intérieur à Versailles, où il est toujours conservé. Il réalise les cariatides et les ornements de bronze doré du serre-bijoux de Schwerdfeger, offert par la ville de Paris à la reine Marie-Antoinette en 1787. Il est également l'auteur des bronzes du serre-bijoux de la comtesse de Provence, conservé aujourd'hui au château de Windsor. Parallèlement, il travaille pour une riche clientèle privée française et étrangère parmi laquelle figuraient quelques maréchaux de Napoléon. Enfin, il se retire des affaires au milieu des années 1820 et meurt en 1843.

 

Je propose mes objets dans une valeur basse d'estimation d'expert. Ainsi, leur acquisition vous confère l'assurance  d'un placement sûr. 

THOMIRE : Paire De Candélabres en Bronze, Empire

0,00 €Prix
  • DETAILS DE L'ARTICLE

    Hauteur: 75cm 

  • POLITIQUE DE LIVRAISON

    Je gère pour vous la livraison en France ainsi qu'à l'international: contactez-moi pour établir un ou plusieurs devis de transport. 
    Je veille à ce qu'un soin tout particulier soit respecté pour un emballage et une protection adaptés à vos achats. 

© 2020 Géraldine Buisson, tous droits réservés